Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CMS Format: Sample Footnote and Bibliographic Entries

CMS Format

CMS refers to a research format described in the Chicago Manual of Style. This format is often used for history, philosophy and religion papers; instructors in other disciplines may also prefer CMS format.

Sample Entries

Book with One Author:

Footnote:

1. Author's Name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, year), page.

2. Mary Hurlbut Cordier, Schoolwomen of the Prairies and Plains (Albuquerque: The University of New Mexico Press, 1997), 19.

Bibliography:

Cordier, Mary Hurlbut. Schoolwomen of the Prairies and Plains. Albuquerque: The University of New Mexico Press, 1997.

Book with Two or Three Authors:

Footnote:

          1. Peter Dunne, David Sibley, and Clay Sutton, Hawks in Flight: The Flight Identification of North American Raptors (Boston: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2012), 43.

Bibliography:

Dunne, Peter, David Sibley, and Clay Sutton. Hawks in Flight: The Flight Identification of North American Raptors. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2012.

Book with Four to Ten Authors:

Footnote:

2.  Eamonn Carrabine et al., Criminology: A Sociological Introduction (London: Routledge, 2009), 27.

Bibliography:

Carrabine, Eamonn, Pam Cox, Maggy Lee, Ken Plummer, and Nigel South. Criminology: A Sociological Introduction, London: Routledge, 2009.

Chapter from an Edited Book or Anthology:

Footnote:

          2. Kathryn A. Bard, "The Emergence of the Egyptian State (c. 3200-2686 BC)," in The Oxford History of Ancient Egypt, ed. Ian Shaw (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2000), 62.

Bibliography:

Bard, Kathryn A. "The Emergence of the Egyptian State (c. 3200-2686 BC)." In The Oxford History of Ancient Egypt, edited by Ian Shaw, 61-88. Oxford:

Oxford University Press, 2000.

Electronic Version of a Print Book:

Footnote:

            1. Author's Name, Title of Book, (Publication Information), page, chapter, or other locator, access information.

2. T. H. Huxley, The Advance of Science in the Last Half-Century (Project Gutenberg, released March 4, 2005), "Reassertion by Dalton of Atomic

Theory," http://www.gutenberg.org /files/15253/15253-h/15253-h.htm.

3. Niccolo Machiavelli, The Prince, trans. W. K. Marriott (Minneapolis, MN: Lerner Publishing Group, 2015), chap. 2, ProQuest Ebook Central.

Bibliography:

Huxley, T. H. The Advance of Science in the Last Half-Century. Project Gutenberg, released March 4, 2005. http://www.gutenberg.org/files

/15253/15253-h/15253-h.htm.

Machiavelli, Niccolo. The Prince. Translated by W. K. Marriott. Minneapolis, MN: Lerner Publishing Group, 2015. ProQuest Ebook Central.

Magazine Article:

Footnote:

1. Jay Hovdey, “When the Race Is Over,” Smithsonian, May 2020, 34.

Bibliography:

Hovdey, Jay. "When the Race Is Over." Smithsonian, May 2020.

Magazine Article Online:

Footnote:

1. Patrick Olsen, "5 Things to Know about Oil Changes for Your Car," Consumer Reports, September 4, 2017, http:// www.consumerreports.org

/car-maintenance/things-to-know-about-oil-changes-for-your-car/.

Bibliography:

Olsen, Patrick. "5 Things to Know about Oil Changes for Your Car." Consumer Reports, September 4, 2017. http:// www.consumerreports.org

/car-maintenance/things-to-know-about-oil-changes-for-your-car/.

Newspaper Article Online:

Footnote:

1. Andy Pasztor, "SpaceX Successfully Launches NASA Astronauts into Space," The Wall Street Journal, May 31, 2020, https://www.wsj.com

/articles/elon-musks-spacex-capsule-links-up-with-space-station-11590934994.

Bibliography:

Pasztor, Andy. "SpaceX Successfully Launches NASA Astronauts into Space." The Wall Street Journal, May 31, 2020. https://www.wsj.com/articles

/elon-musks-spacex-capsule-links-up-with-space-station-11590934994.

Journal Article:

Footnote:

1. Author's Name, “Title of Article,” Name of Journal volume number, issue number (date of publication): page.

2. Clyde F. Herreid, “Science, Pseudoscience, and Nonsense,” Journal of College Science Teaching 45, no. 5 (May-June 2016): 62.

Bibliography:

Herreid, Clyde F. “Science, Pseudoscience, and Nonsense.” Journal of College Science Teaching 45, no. 5 (May-June 2016): 61-65.

Journal Article from a Database:

Footnote:

1. Author's Name, “Title of Article,” Name of Journal volume number, issue number (date of publication): page, DOI or URL.

2. Edward K. Bryant, "Environmental Impacts of the Aswan High Dam," The Military Engineer 72, no. 467 (May-June 1980): 181,

https://www.jstor.org/stable/44558765.

Bibliography:

Bryant, Edward K. "Environmental Impacts of the Aswan High Dam." The Military Engineer 72, no. 467 (July 1959): 181-183.

https://www.jstor.org/stable/44558765.

Online Video:

Footnote:

1. Author's Name if Known, "Title of Video," source if any (e.g., information on original performance or name of YouTube channel), date uploaded,

description, length, url.

2. Eric Cline, "1177 BC: The Year Civilization Collapsed," October 8, 2016, George Washington University, October 11, 2016, video

of lecture, https://www.youtube.com /watch?v=bRcu-ysocX4.

3. Matthew Karsten. "Mayan Ruins of Coba ̶ Mexico," Expert Vagabond, March 9, 2016, video, 1:59, https://www.youtube.com

/watch?v=cMf_WpepQP0.

Bibliography:

Cline, Eric. "1177 BC: The Year Civilization Collapsed." October 8, 2016, George Washington University. October 11, 2016, video of lecture.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bRcu-ysocX4.

Karsten, Matthew. "Mayan Ruins of Coba ̶ Mexico." Expert Vagabond, March 9, 2016. Video, 1:59. https://222.youtube.com/watch?v=cMf_WpepQP0.

Online Reference Book

Footnote Only

1. Merriam-Webster, s.v. "Primogeniture," accessed June 11, 2020, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/primogeniture.

Article from a Website:

Use italics for the title of the website only if it is analogous to another type of publication such as a magazine or encyclopedia.

Include access dates for undated material or material from sites in which the content changes often.

Footnote:

          1.  Author's Name, “Title of Article,” Title or owner of site, publication or revision date, URL.

          2. Alice Chambers, "New Video of the Loch Ness Monster: Proof or Prank?" ABC News, September 19, 2019, https://abcnews.go.com

/International/video-loch-ness-monster-proof-prank/story?id=65716742.

          3. “Telepathy,” Wikipedia, last modified May 30, 2020, accessed June 11, 2020, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ Telepathy.

Bibliography:

Author's Name. “Title of Article.” Title or owner of site. Publication or revision date. URL.

Chambers, Alice. "New Video of the Loch Ness Monster: Proof or Prank?" ABC News. September 19, 2019. https://abcnews.go.com/International

/video-loch-ness-monster-proof-prank/story?id=65716742.

“Telepathy.” Wikipedia. Last modified May 30, 2020. Accessed June 11, 2020. http://en. wikipedia.org/wiki/Telepathy.

Undated Article from a Website:

Footnote:

          1. Author's Name, “Title of Article,” Title or owner of site, access date, URL.

          2. Eric Klingelhofer, “What Happened to the Lost Colony of Roanoke Island?” HistoryExtra, Immediate Media, accessed May 24, 2020, http://www.historyextra.com /period/tudor/what-happened-to-the-lost-colony-of-roanoke-island/.

Bibliography:

Author's Name. “Title of Article.” Title or owner of site. Access date. URL.

Klingelhofer, Eric. “What Happened to the Lost Colony of Roanoke Island?” HistoryExtra. Immediate Media. Accessed May 24, 2020.

http://www.historyextra.com/period /tudor/what-happened-to-the-lost-colony-of-roanoke-island/.