Find Articles/Clinical Info - Nursing - Library Resources - LibGuides at Laramie County Community College

myLCCC Is Your Ticket!

Make Sure You Are Logged in to myLCCC!

Your myLCCC account is your ticket to access the Ludden Library's paid online subscription databases. If you get an error message, check to make sure you are still logged in to your myLCCC account.

Need Help with Databases?

If you are new to database searching or are struggling to find articles on your topic, the Ludden Library staff is ready to help! Stop by our help desk in person, schedule an appointment with me, or start a chat session using the chat button on your screen.

Subscription Database Access to Articles, Clinical Information and Evidence Based Practice

Articles from Library Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This database offers journal articles), evidence based practice sheets, and continuing education credit modules. To find articles written BY A NURSE, go to the Advanced Search option and click the First Author is Nurse and Any Author is Nurse boxes.
Ovid Health Sciences Journals This link opens in a new window
This database offers articles from a wide range of nursing journals. There are also short videos on a wide variety of healthcare related topics. To find an article BY A NURSE, choose Multi-Field Search and type RN in a Search field box and select Byline Text from the drop down menu next to it. Enter additional search terms in another Search field.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed articles on health/life sciences topics. To find an article BY A NURSE, go to the Advanced Search screen and type RN in the Author Affiliation box.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
This databases offers articles on alternative, holistic, homeopathic & Chinese medicine.

Evidence Based Clinical Information

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
This library database contains current, evidence based answers to clinical questions, not journal articles. You will be prompted to log in to this database, even on campus.

Citing UpToDate is a little tricky. Here is a link their website where they describe their preferred citation method for their topic pages. Link - Citing UpToDate

Two Special Cases -

These next two databases are FREE. They are maintained by the National Library of Medicine. PubMed is an EXCELLENT database to find peer-reviewed, academic journal articles.

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
This website is a health resource for patients, their families and friends. The site includes information on diseases and disorders, drugs and supplements, genetics and medical tests. Links to full text academic articles and abstracts are provided for some topics.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts for biomedical literature, life science journals and online books. Some links to full text articles available through PubMed Central and publisher websites are provided.

**PubMed works a little differently than many other databases. Here is a link to search tips for PubMed

Check for Journal Access

Can I Get This Article for Free?

Video: Check for Journal Access
Did you find an article but it isn't offered in full text? This video will show you how to check whether or not the Ludden Library has access to the journal where your article was published. After watching, click on the eJournal Portal link below to search for your journal title.
eJournal Portal
Search for magazines/journals/newspapers by publication title.

Librarian

Jenn Markus

Email Me

Contact:

Office: LIB 120

(307) 778-1204

Subjects: Citation Help, Education, Faculty Resources, Health Sciences & Wellness, Psychology

Nursing - Library Resources: Find Articles/Clinical Info