Skip to Main Content

Zoterobib & Zotero: Zoterobib

Learn how to cite sources using Zoterobib and Zotero.

Getting Started

Getting Started with Zoterobib

Zoterobib is web-based. To get started using it, open the Zoterobib site.

  • Zoterobib is best for citing journal articles from library databases, books, and webpages.
  • It's helpful to have a style guide open (MLA, APA, the Purdue OWL guide.) when using Zoterobib so you can consult it if you have questions about how a field should be filled out.
  • For more help, please visit this FAQ & Troubleshooting page from Zoterobib.

Citing Journal Articles with Zoterobib

Citing Journal Articles from Databases

The key steps in the process are:

  1. Have a style guide open to consult (APA, MLA, etc.).
  2. In the database, find the article's DOI number (preferred) or a persistent link back to it.
  3. Paste it in Zoterobib's search box.
  4. After the citation is generated, click edit to make sure the capitalization of the article and journal titles is correct for the style you are using (MLA, APA, etc.). Check the page number range too!
  5. Click on the quotation mark to see an in-text citation for the source.

Citing Books with Zoterobib

Citing Books

The key steps in the process are:

  1. Have a style guide open to consult (APA, MLA, etc.).
  2. Find the book's ISBN number.
  3. Paste or type it in Zoterobib's search box.
  4. After the citation is generated, click edit to make sure the capitalization of the book's title is correct for the style you are using (MLA, APA, etc.). 
  5. Use the quotation mark to see an in-text citation for the source.

Citing Webpages

Citing Webpages

The key steps in the process are:

  1. Have a style guide open to consult (APA, MLA, etc.).
  2. Copy and paste the webpage's URL into Zoterobib's search box.
  3. After the citation is generated, make sure to click edit and correct any issues. Sometimes Zoterobib misses information as it crawls the page. Make sure it did not miss key information (author, date, etc.). Check the titles for proper capitalization according to your style guide's requirements.
  4. Use the quotation mark to see an in-text citation for the source.

Exporting Citations and Saving Your Bibliography

Saving Bibliographies and Exporting Them to Word

This video walks you through the process of saving your bibliography by generating a link to it. Zoterobib stores that bibliography for 6 months after the last time it is accessed.

You will also learn how to export your bibliography into Word.