Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literature: Databases

Literature Cross-Search

Literature Resources from Gale

cross-search the literatrue resources in Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Resource Center and both the Twayne's and Scribner's series in one place

Videos for Literature

Has the work you are interested in ever been staged or filmed?  Is there a documentary about it?  Search here...

JSTOR

JSTOR
an archival database that can be a good place to search for independent works of literary criticism.

Online Articles, Books & More

Literature Resource Center
Author biographies, work overviews, literature criticism. Many of your results may be articles taken from journals or books and republished in this database. If you have a question about how to cite your sources, click here. Still not sure? Ask a Librarian!.

Search Literature Resource Center

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Has some criticism but will be better for biographical and background information on authors, works, literary themes, and eras.

Search Gale Virtual Reference Library

Bloom's Literature
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature. Contains critical essays, author biographies, character entries, and synopses of literary works.

Search Bloom's Literature

Literature Criticism Online
Literature criticism, including short story, poetry & drama. Although the primary purpose of this database is to present literary criticism, each entry is preceded by a 1-2 page biographical sketch and photo of the author. CAN NOT be cross-searched with the other Gale databases.

Search Literature Criticism Online

Scribner Writers Series
Blend of both biographical and literary analysis. Articles of about 20 pages incorporate views of major critics and include bibliographies. 

Search Scribner Writers

Twayne Authors Series
Full-text of 600 books covering individual authors and their major works. Includes US, British and World authors series.

Search Twayne Authors

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
Contains 250,000 poems in full text and 450,000 citations to poems in collections; also includes some commentary and audio files of poetry readings.

Search for Poems

 

 

Reference Librarian

Profile Photo
Paula Badgett
Contact:
Office: LIB 116
(307) 778-1378
Pathways Subjects:
Communication & Creative Arts
Human & Public Services