Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literature for Children EDEL 2280: Evaluate a Book

This guide provides resources to help you find children's books, evaluate them, and create activities to use with them when working with students.

myLCCC Is Your Ticket!

Make Sure You Are Logged in to myLCCC!

Your myLCCC account is your ticket to access the Ludden Library's paid online subscription databases. If you get an error message, check to make sure you are still logged in to your myLCCC account.

Need Help with Databases?

If you are new to database searching or are struggling to find articles on your topic, the Ludden Library staff is ready to help!  Stop by our help desk in person, schedule an appointment with me or start a chat session using the Ask Us! slide out on your screen.

Names of Major Review Journals

Names of Major Review Journals

As you look through lists of search results, take note of the names of these major review journals for children's and YA literature.  You can look for reviews online in several places, however, they will have originally been published in print in one of these review journals.

  • Booklist
  • Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
  • School Library Journal
  • The Horn Book Magazine
  • Voya
  • Publishers Weekly
  • Kirkus Reviews

How to Find Book Reviews

Find a Book Review

Search Multiple Databases at Once:

Search for multiple reviews at once using this search that crawls multiple databases looking for matches for your terms.  Put the book's title in quotes to keep the words grouped as a phrase.

     Example Search Terms: "and tango makes three" review  

For more specific results, include an author in your search:

     Example Search Terms: "Beauty and the beast" review Brett


Search Specific Databases That Archive Information about Books

These databases archive lots of information about books.  They will provide you with summaries, reviews and lists of awards a book has won. Simply search for your book's title once you open the database.