APA Style and Grammar Guidelines

Each different type of sources has a format for what is needed.

Scholarly Journal Article 

• Here is a basic journal article reference example, for more detailed information click the link

Grady, J. S., Her, M., Moreno, G., Perez, C., & Yelinek, J. (2019). Emotions in storybooks: A comparison of storybooks that represent ethnic and racial groups in the United States. Psychology of Popular Media Culture, 8(3), 207–217. https://doi.org/10.1037/ppm0000185

• Parenthetical citation: (Grady et al., 2019)
• Narrative citation: Grady et al. (2019)

Popular Newspaper Article

• Here are basic newspaper article reference examples, for more detailed information click the link

Harlan, C. (2013, April 2). North Korea vows to restart shuttered nuclear reactor that can make bomb-grade plutonium. The Washington Post, A1, A4.

Stobbe, M. (2020, January 8). Cancer death rate in U.S. sees largest one-year drop ever. Chicago Tribune.

• Parenthetical citations: (Harlan, 2013; Stobbe, 2020)
• Narrative citations: Harlan (2013), and Stobbe (2020)

Online Webpage on a news article website

• Here are basic newspaper article reference examples, for more detailed information click the link

Bologna, C. (2019, October 31). Why some people with anxiety love watching horror movies. HuffPost. https://www.huffpost.com/entry/anxiety-love-watching-horror-movies_l_5d277587e4b02a5a5d57b59e

Roberts, N. (2020, June 10). Trayvon Martin’s mother, Sybrina Fulton, qualifies to run for elected office. BET News. https://www.bet.com/news/national/2020/06/10/trayvon-martin-mother-sybrina-fulton-qualifies-for-office-florid.html

Toner, K. (2020, September 24). When Covid-19 hit, he turned his newspaper route into a lifeline for senior citizens. CNN. https://www.cnn.com/2020/06/04/us/coronavirus-newspaper-deliveryman-groceries-senior-citizens-cnnheroes-trnd/index.html

• Parenthetical citations: (Bologna, 2019; Roberts, 2020; Toner, 2020)
• Narrative citations: Bologna (2019), Roberts (2020), and Toner (2020)

RefWorks

NOTICE:  LCCC Ludden Library is discontinuing its RefWorks account as of August 31, 2024

An alternative free citation generator/manager to explore is Zotero. Zotero, like RefWorks, allows you to generate citations and fully formatted bibliographies in a variety of formats (APA,AMA, MLA, etc.). Zotero will also generate an in-text citation for your sources. They offer a lighter web-based version, called Zoterobib that is excellent for citing journal articles. To use all of the features of the full citation manager, download Zotero from their website. 

---

 

RefWorks is an online citation management tool. Use RefWorks to export citations from many of the library databases, such as EBSCOhost and ProQuest, and then let RefWorks create your bibliography to include at the end of your research paper.

 

Log into RefWorks

To create your account, click on RefWorks then select "Create Account."

 

Watch RefWorks tutorials

Or Ask a Librarian for help.

 

Note: As with all automatically generated citations, it is important to double check the accuracy of your citations before turning in your assignment.

Getting Started

1. Understand plagiarism.
   Plagiarism happens when you do not properly cite your sources, but instead steal someone else's words or ideas without giving them credit. Read more about how to avoid plagiarism on the plagiarism tab of our tips and tutorials libguide.
2. Know what your instructor requires.
   For this assignment, APA style
3. Keep track of your sources as you go.
   This way, you will avoid having to remember where you found a particular quote or fact.

Compiling Your Works Cited

1. What type of source is it?
   Book, encyclopedia article, journal article, website, film ... ? Some of the library databases, such as Gale Virtual Reference Library or Oxford Reference Online, are the online versions of dictionaries and encyclopedias. These will be cited differently than articles from journal/magazine databases.
2. What format is it?
   Paper or online? A journal article retrieved from a library database, like EBSCO, will be cited differently than the same article if you accessed it in paper format.
3. When you know the source type and format ...
   a. Follow a citation style guidebook, or
   b. Use  NoodleBib (lower right side of tips and tutorials page) to help format and store your citations, or the "Cheat Sheet" to the left

Test yourself with this quick matching game.