Skip to Main Content

Accounting: Citation Basics

Beginning Your Works Cited List

Getting Started
  1. Understand plagiarism.
    Plagiarism happens when you do not properly cite your sources, but instead steal someone else's words or ideas without giving them credit. Read more about how to avoid plagiarism on the plagiarism tab of our tips and tutorials libguide.
  2. Know what your instructor requires.
    For this assignment, APA style
  3. Keep track of your sources as you go.
    This way, you will avoid having to remember where you found a particular quote or fact.
Compiling Your Works Cited
  1. What type of source is it?
    Book, encyclopedia article, journal article, website, film ... ? Some of the library databases, such as Gale Virtual Reference Library or Oxford Reference Online, are the online versions of dictionaries and encyclopedias. These will be cited differently than articles from journal/magazine databases.
  2. What format is it?
    Paper or online? A journal article retrieved from a library database, like EBSCO, will be cited differently than the same article if you accessed it in paper format.
  3. When you know the source type and format ...
    a. Follow a citation style guide, or
    b. Use the examples provided

Citation Software

RefWorks

NOTICE:  LCCC Ludden Library is discontinuing its RefWorks account as of August 31, 2024

An alternative free citation generator/manager to explore is Zotero. Zotero, like RefWorks, allows you to generate citations and fully formatted bibliographies in a variety of formats (APA,AMA, MLA, etc.). Zotero will also generate an in-text citation for your sources. They offer a lighter web-based version, called Zoterobib that is excellent for citing journal articles. To use all of the features of the full citation manager, download Zotero from their website. 

 

RefWorks is an online citation management tool. Use RefWorks to export citations from many of the library databases, such as EBSCOhost and ProQuest, and then let RefWorks create your bibliography to include at the end of your research paper.
 
Log into RefWorks

To create your account, click on RefWorks then select "Create Account."

 
Watch RefWorks tutorials
Or Ask a Librarian for help.
 
Note: As with all automatically generated citations, it is important to double check the accuracy of your citations before turning in your assignment.