Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
(Polk) City Directory (Cheyenne Area)
Call Number: AY2001 .C5 W9 2016
Alphabetical section - Residents and businesses. Residential listings include full name, address, phone number, occupation, homeowners, multiple adults in household, home value, dual-income families and community abbreviation. Business listings include nature of business and business owner’s name.
Business Directory(yellow) - Alphabetical by business TYPE -- like the yellow pages of the phone book. Lists number of employees. May list web site and/or FAX.
Also includes Telephone key and Street Guide.
Demographic Summary - For each postal carrier route/zip code, demographic information listed: average estimated income; household age; median age of adults; median home values; median household incomes; owner vs. renter occupancy; average years lived at same address.
Proquest Statistical Abstract
Call Number: REF HA202 .S7
The best known statistical reference publication in the country. A comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Previously published by the U.S. Government and now privately published by ProQuest, Inc.
County and City Data Book: A Statistical Abstract Supplement by
Call Number: REF HA202 .A36 2007
Contains about 200 data items for all counties. Education level, income, poverty, crime, housing, population, manufacturing and trade. Example: farming income in Wyoming counties. Can see farming income of Wyoming as compared to Texas (or other state.)
Tables: A - States; B - Counties; C - Cities of 25,000 or more; D - MCDs (Minor Civil Divisions) of 2,500 or more.
Tip: Tables generally continue over several pages.
Also available online
with 2010 data.
Encyclopedia of Associations
Call Number: REF HS17 .G332 2000
3 parts - 1 index and 2 volumes of entries. Also, international and regional editions
TIP: index refers to an ENTRY NUMBER, not a page number
The 2010 edition
is available online.
The Statesman's Yearbook 2017
Call Number: REF JA 51 .S7 2013
Updated annually. British. Overviews of countries, organized alphabetically. Historical and statistical information, area and population, vital statistics, climate, defense, economy, form of government, natural resources, communications, education, diplomatic relations, bibliography.
The Almanac of American Politics 2014
Call Number: REF JK 1012 .A44 2016
Summary of political activities by individual members of Congress (brief biography, career, address.) Organized alphabetically by state, each chapter begins with a summary of the state’s political climate and past political history.
Also includes ratings by 11 interest groups. National Journal ratings - panel of National Journal editors compile list of key roll call votes of Congress and then analyze them re how a liberal or conservative would vote...members then ranked according to relative liberal or conservative and ranked by percentile from 0 to 99. Lists committee memberships. An update service and convenient calendars of upcoming committee meetings and testimonies is available at: http://www.nationaljournal.com/almanac
Note: the print copy contains a registration number which may be necessary to access some parts of the website.
U.S. Government Manual
Call Number: REF JK421 .A3 2015
Official handbook of the federal government, providing comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial and executive branches. Also information on quasi-official agencies, such as EPA, and international organizations. Typical agency description includes a list of principal officials, a summary statement of the agency’s purpose and role in the fed. govt., brief history of the agency, a description of its programs and activities, and contacts for further information. Name index and agency/subject index in back.
Appendices: A - Commonly Used Abbreviations and Acronyms; B - Federal Agencies Terminated, Transferred, or Changed in Name; C - Agencies Appearing in the Code of Federal Regulations. Also available online.
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
Call Number: REF P 88.8 .G35 2001
An annual guide to publications and broadcasting stations, including newspapers, magazines, journals, radio stations, television stations and cable systems; 5 vols. plus update. Covers U.S. and Canadian media: ad rates; circulation statistics; local programming; names of key personnel.
The 2010 edition
is available online.
Call Number: REF PN161 .W83 2017
The most trusted guide to getting published! Want to get published and paid for your writing? Let Writer's Market 2017 guide you through the process with thousands of publishing opportunities for writers, including listings for book publishers, consumer and trade magazines, contests and awards, and literary agents. These listings feature contact and submission information to help writers get their work published. Beyond the listings, you'll find all-new material devoted to the business and promotion of writing. You also gain access to: List of professional writing organizations and sample query letters.
Call Number: REF PS1 .W73 2015
Lists over 20,000 from all countries who have had at least one work published in English. Now in 6 vols. Best known authors (both fiction and nonfiction) to those just beginning careers.
Information: name(s); pseudonyms; nationality; birth year; genres; brief career information; publications; awards; address; online address/website. Death notation and year in Obits. section. Also, an index to writing categories and a citizenship index. NOTE: link above is to the 2014 edition.
Bartlett’s Familiar Quotations 17th ed.
Call Number: REF PN6081 .B27 2002
Arranged chronologically. Indexed by author or keyword.
NOTE: The online version at http://www.bartleby.com is the 10th ed.