LibGuides: English 1010/1020 Research Guide: Find Articles

Finding Articles

Finding Articles:

LCCC students can find articles in the library's online subscription databases listed below. Make sure you are logged in to your myLCCC account. This lets vendors know we have paid for you to access their databases. If you are new to database searching -

Watch this video from Hartness Library to learn more about the types of materials they contain.
- What Is a Database?
Hover over the Find Articles tab at the top of this page click on Search Strategies to find lots of useful tips.

Recommended Databases

Current Events & Hot Topics:

Find newspaper, magazine, and journal articles on hot topics that have been in the news in these databases. You can search by clicking on links or using keywords.

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
As the name implies, this is a great source for information on hot topics, especially if they are controversial. Can especially help with persuasive papers.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
International viewpoints on current events
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Presents in-depth yet easy-to-read research reports on current issues. Browsing in here might help you think of a paper topic.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find supporting statistics for your topic.

General Databases:

These "monster" sized databases cover MANY topics and are a great place to find peer-reviewed articles. They are completely keyword driven.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This all-purpose database covers all subject areas and contains a large number of journals in addition to magazines and newspapers. This one is a good choice for in-depth scholarly research.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of magazine & journal articles covering all subject areas. Also has large collection of newspapers, including the New York Times.

Take a Tour of These Databases

If you have never used these databases to find articles before, this video will show you how to search for articles in each database and will point out key features of each database as well.

Search ALL Databases at Once

LCCC subscribes to over 50 databases. We've just listed the ones that have been most helpful to English 1010 students in the past on this page. You can also try searching ALL of LCCC's databases at once! Make sure you have generated good keywords before trying this search.

Search for Articles & eBooks