Skip to Main Content

Humanities: Finding Articles

Resources for Humanities 1010

The resources highlighted here all have some content that covers history, art, music, literature, philosophy, religion, or language from ancient times through the Middle Ages

General Databases, Reference, and Biography

Reference and Biography

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
All subjects; extensive collection of reference books
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
All subjects; for quick reference
Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Profiles of more than 380,000 people throughout history

General Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Humanities, social & life sciences journal articles; art images from museums around the world
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on all subjects; for in-depth, academic research

Video Databases

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
More than 45,000 streaming educational videos

History Databases

History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
History articles and eBooks
World History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Articles, primary sources, maps and charts

Arts & Literature Databases

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Digital art image collection compiled from museums around the world; NOTE: ARTstor content is now in JSTOR
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia entries on art, architecture, history, anthropology
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Music encyclopedias
Fine Arts & Music Collection This link opens in a new window
More than 100 full text magazines and journals

Literature

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Cross-search Literature Resource Center, Scribner, Twayne's and other eBooks
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Great writers and influential movements in world literature