Citation Software

Flow

Flow is a cloud-based citation management tool that can not only capture citation information from articles in databases and web pages, but can also capture the content of those web pages and articles, usually as a pdf or html file stored in Flow along with the citation. Flow can be used to store collections of resources to share with others, to create bibliographies in the citation style of your choice, and also has tools that integrate with Word or Google Docs to create in-text citations as you write.

Get into Flow

Create an account using the link above
Watch flow tutorials from ProQuest
Or Ask a Librarian for help

RefWorks

RefWorks is an online citation management tool. Use RefWorks to export citations from many of the library databases, such as EBSCOhost and ProQuest, and then let RefWorks create your bibliography to include at the end of your research paper.

Log into RefWorks

To create your own new account, after clicking on the link above, select "Sign up for a New Account" in the gray box on the left.

Watch RefWorks tutorials

Or Ask a Librarian for help.

Note: As with all automatically generated citations, it is important to double check the accuracy of your citations before turning in your assignment.

NoodleBib

Record and store your citation information in your own online account and NoodleBib will automatically generate your MLA or APA bibliography.

1. Log into NoodleBib
IMPORTANT: If you are off-campus, contact the library for remote access information. You will need to log in using the library databases off-campus password before you can enter your personal NoodleBib ID.

2. Create a Personal ID
Pick any Personal ID and Password you'd like. This will create an online account just for your citations.

3. Create a New List
Now that you have your own NoodleBib account, select "Create a New List" to start saving your citations for a particular class or research paper.

More MLA Guides

MLA Style Guide (from Purdue University)
Guide with plenty of examples created by the librarians at Purdue.
The MLA Style Center: Writing Resources from the Modern Language Association.
Includes basic information about using the MLA Handbook 8th edition. Simple visual examples included.
more...less...
The Modern Language Association is the creator of the MLA citation style.

Online Citation Tools

BibMe

Citation Builder

KnightCite

The Son of Citation Machine

Note: Although these online citation builders have been developed to provide consistent citations with the rules set out by the citation style guides, users are ultimately responsible for the citations and need to proofread them for accuracy.